STATE OF WISCONSIN
DIETITIANS AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DIETITIANS AFFILIATED
DIETITIANS AFFILIATED : CREDENTIALING BOARD
CREDENTIALING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES

: (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 05-021)

ORDER

An order of the Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend DI 2.04 (1) (c) and 3.01 (1),
relating to filing applications for temporary certificates and examinations.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted:
Sections 448.80 and 448.84, Stats.
Statutory authority:
Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:

Currently, s. DI 2.04 (1) (c) requires that a candidate for licensure apply to take the American
Dietetic Association examination at least 120 days prior to the examination being offered.
Similarly, s. DI 3.01 (1) requires applicants to file their applications for licensure at least 120
days prior to the next examination being offered by the American Dietetic Association. Because
the American Dietetic Association’s examination is now computer assisted, candidates may
schedule those examinations at their convenience, thereby eliminating the necessity to schedule
at least 120 days in advance. Eliminating the 120 day advance filing requirement will therefore
provide greater flexibility to those candidates applying for licensure and simplify the
credentialing process.

Related statute or rule:

There are no related statutes or rules other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:

In this rule-making order the Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board is amending language

relating to filing applications for examinations and temporary certificates. Since the American
Dietetic Association’s pre-licensing procedures are now computer assisted, an applicant may
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now schedule the examination at his or her convenience. Therefore, there is no reason to require
the 120 day wait.

SECTION 1 amends the examination provisions to allow applicants to obtain a temporary
certificate and submit application to take the examination as soon as possible, without a 120 day
wait.

SECTION 2 amends the application submission process allowing the applicant to take the
examination as soon as possible, without a 120 day wait.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:

There is no existing federal regulation.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

A search of rules adopted in Michigan, Minnesota, lowa, Illinois and Indiana indicates that none
of these states have time requirements for submission of applications. There are no federal
regulations concerned with time requirements for submission of applications for dietitian
credentials in the states.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The board is responding to communication from the Commission on Dietetic Registration
indicating that the 120 day period is no longer needed to prepare for candidates to take the
examination. The rule change is a response to this improvement in their processes.
Determination of significant fiscal effect on the private sector:

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the private sector.

Fiscal estimate:

The proposed rules will have no impact on the department’s funds.

Effect on small business:

Pursuant to s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats., these rules will have no significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses. The Department’s Small Business Regulatory Review

Coordinator may be contacted by email at chris.klein@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266-
8608.
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Agency contact person:

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. Telephone: (608) 266-0495.
Email address: pamela.haack@drl.state. wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack at the addresses listed above. Comments must be
received on or before April 22, 2005, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. DI 2.04 (1) (c) is amended to read:

DI 2.04 (1) (c) Submits an application for examination atleast-120-days-priorto-the-date
ofthe-next-scheduled—examination along with the fee specified in s. 440.05, Stats.

SECTION 2. DI 3.01 (1) is amended to read:

DI 3.01 Examination provisions. (1) An applicant for examination for a certificate as a

dietitian shall file an application on a form prescribed by the board atdeast-120-days—priorto-the
date-of thenext-scheduled—examination and shall submit the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1) (b),

Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated Agency

Chairperson
Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board

D1 2.04, 3.01 CR05-021 (Application filing) Final draft for adoption 6-7-05
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